Skip to main content

Sarah Nicolosi (She/her)

Resumé

Currently living in

Minneapolis, Minnesota, US

Work Preferences

Remote

Open to roles

Co-opInternshipShort Term ContractLong Term Employee

I have many years of experience working with nonprofit agencies promoting environmental and social change and many friends and colleagues who are members of organizations and movements promoting peace, justice and social equality both within the United States and around the world. I have always been happiest in any organizational environment that is in keeping with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Ideal Workplace Values

I prefer a collaborative, consensus-based work environment that draws strength from diversity.


My Badges

Skills and Strengths

My Neuro-exceptional talent

I tend to easily hyperfocus on projects I'm extremely interested in and balance big-picture thinking with a high attention to detail in highly engaged and highly focused work sessions that sometimes last 10 to 12 hours at a time, for days at a time. I'm very deadline-oriented and and can easily plan and implement work projects with the completion of discrete work products (designs, written documents, etc) as the final end product submitted by both soft and hard deadlines. I also take extensive notes during creative brainstorm periods and am able to easily refer to anything I recorded in notation form for further development during the process of developing any final work product (i.e. a report).

Technical Skills

Top 5 Soft Skills

Working AutonomouslyStrategic ThinkingCreativityLogical ReasoningCritical Thinking

Inclusion Essentials

Accommodations

Closed CaptioningSpeech to Text Technology Send Questions in AdvanceInterviewer Experienced with NeurodiversityExtra TimeAlternate Interview FormatWritten interview instructionsEmail / Calendar OrganizationTask ManagementDaily Check-InsDaily RemindersEmail Writing HelpPresentation HelpCommunication PlanConcise InstructionsWritten ChecklistsReceiving Information in AdvanceWritten InstructionsRecorded Tasks & MessagesExtra Time to Process New InformationChunking Large Amounts of ContentFlexible ScheduleExtra Time Off for AppointmentsShorter MeetingsPeriodic Rest BreaksUninterrupted Work TimeNoise-cancelling HeadphonesQuiet / Individual WorkspacesCounselingJob CoachingSupport Group for StressSupport with Self-AdvocacyNotetakingTimers

Environments I'm comfortable with

Interaction with the public
Loud noises
Uniforms (hard hat, hair net, etc.)
Working with animals
Driving a vehicle
Working with food
Heavy lifting
Bright or blinking lights
Outdoors or places with strong smells
Standing for long periods
Variable temperatures

I would strongly prefer a work-from-home situation because I have had many stressful, bad, unsupportive work environments throughout my nearly 30 years of work experience. At 44 years old, I am in some ways at the prime of my working life and in other respects I have been so traumatized by harmful work environments and workplace discrimination as a neurodivergent worker that being able to do my work on my own most of the time would be the ideal work environment for me.

Experience

Check out my work

Worked for 1 months from Oct 2022 to Nov 2022

Cleaner - Two Bettys Green Cleaning

I was a house cleaner.

Manual labor skillsActive ListeningFollowing direction
Worked for 3 years, 6 months from Jul 2007 to Dec 2010

Marketing/Communications Coordinator - Great Plains Institute

I was the first-ever Marketing/Communications Coordinator for the Great Plains Institute. I built the entire department from the ground up.

Microsoft OfficeAdobe PhotoshopAdobe IllustratorAdobe InDesignNonprofit OfficeCollaborationStrategic planningWriting skillsResearchCreative problem solving

Education and Credentials

Attended for 2 years from 2003 to 2005

Goddard College

Master's degree - Masters of Fine Arts in Creative Writing