Skip to main content

Sara Berg-Johnson (She/her)

Resumé

Work Preferences

In-PersonRemoteHybrid

Open to roles

InternshipCo-opShort Term ContractLong Term Employee

About Me

#autistic#adhd

I'm a 38 year old autistic/adhd woman living in downtown Montreal with my husband and 2 cats. My interests are food/cooking, neurodiversity, trauma healing, nature, animals, photography and blogging. I'm a progressive Orthodox Christian. I've had two burnouts. I have employment trauma. I'm bilingual English and French both written and spoken.

Ideal Workplace Values

Neurodiversity-affirming, intersectional, trauma-informed, anti-capitalist


Skills and Strengths

My Neuro-exceptional talent

I'm creative, I am direct and honest without any intention to offend, I ask a lot of clarifying questions to be sure I’ve fully understood the tasks at hand, I am much better at single-focus tasks than multi-focus tasks, I use tools such as lists, timers, and alarms to keep me on track with work-oriented goals, and I carry a notebook or my phone if permitted so that I can write down complex verbal instructions, I respond well to feedback and constructive criticism as my overarching goal in life is to learn and grow, I have a high tolerance for sensory stimuli, and I notice if I am getting overwhelmed and can adjust accordingly, I'm good at communicating, I have a good sense of humour and like having fun

Top 5 Soft Skills

Active ListeningWorking AutonomouslyAdaptabilityCreativityAttention to Detail

Inclusion Essentials

Accommodations

Send questions in advanceInterviewer experienced with neurodiversityAllowance of Fidgeting DevicesExtra timeAlternate interview formatWritten interview instructionsSupport personEmail / calendar organizationTask managementDaily job-coach checkinsDaily remindersEmail writing helpPresentation helpCommunication planConcise instructions for processingWritten checklistsReceive information in advanceWritten InstructionsRecorded MeetingsChunking large amounts of contentFlexible scheduleExtra time off for appointmentsPeriodic rest breaksMeditation / quiet roomErgonomic seatingQuiet / individual workspacesSelf-stimulation tools / gadgetCounselingJob coachingSupport group for stressTherapyEmployee resource groupSupport with advocating1:1s with the teamQuiet environmentWritten instructionsListsPatience with asking questionsNot relying on facial expressionNot relying on "social fit", accepting of oddness

Environments I'm comfortable with

Driving a vehicle
Interaction with the public
Heavy lifting
Standing for long periods
Working with animals
Working with food
Bright or blinking lights
Loud noises
Outdoors or places with strong smells
Variable temperatures
Uniforms (hard hat, hair net, etc.)

No math or accounting

Experience

Check out my work

Loading...
Neurodiversity Link Library
Worked for 6 months from Aug 2020 to Feb 2021

Kitchen help - Mimimelon

I prepped food, molded chocolate, carried food upstairs, cleaned

Worked for 1 years, 3 months from Dec 2019 to Feb 2021

Packaging - Promo 21

Packaged products in cardboard boxes

Manual labor
Worked for 5 months from Jul 2019 to Dec 2019

Cleaning - MADA

Cleaning floors and bathrooms and kitchens

manual labor
Worked for 8 months from Jul 2018 to Mar 2019

Deli counter attendant - Metro

Serve clients, slice deli meats, cook foods for hot display cases, wash dishes, do inventory, fill fridges and freezers, package and label ready to eat foods, place them in the fridges, cleaning

Worked for 1 months from Apr 2018 to Jun 2018

Cook - Club Soya

Doing food prep, cooking, cleaning

Worked for 4 months from Feb 2018 to Jun 2018

Cook - Old Forum Sports Bar

Food prep, cooking, cleaning

Worked for 7 months from Oct 2017 to Apr 2018

Dishwasher - Soupesoup

Doing dishes, cleaning

Education and Credentials

Attended for 1 years from 2016 to 2017

EMRTM

Some college, no degree obtained - Cooking