Skip to main content

Madilyn "Teddy" Barnett (They/them)

ResumΓ©

Work Preferences

In-Person

Open to roles

InternshipLong Term Employee

About Me

#ActuallyAutistic

I am an autistic person who has struggled to find a good career fit but believes that there is something out there for them! I have a bachelor's degree in communication studies and seven years of customer service experience. I love dogs, music, and cartoons.

Ideal Workplace Values

LGBT+ friendly; advocacy for women's rights; diversity, equity, and inclusion


Skills and Strengths

My Neuro-exceptional talent

I am able to memorize details that other people may not catch. (i.e. memorizing the cigarette brands and types at a convenience store)

Top 5 Soft Skills

StructureConsistencyReliabilityAttention to Detail

Inclusion Essentials

Accommodations

Closed captioningSend questions in advanceInterviewer experienced with neurodiversityAllowance of Fidgeting DevicesExtra timeAlternate interview formatWritten interview instructionsSupport personEmail / calendar organizationTask managementDaily remindersEmail writing helpPresentation helpCommunication planConcise instructions for processingWritten checklistsReceive information in advanceWritten InstructionsChunking large amounts of contentFlexible scheduleExtra time off for appointmentsShorter meetingsPeriodic rest breaksUninterrupted work timeMeditation / quiet roomQuiet / individual workspacesCounselingJob coachingSupport group for stressTherapyEmployee resource group1:1s with the team

Environments I'm comfortable with

Bright or blinking lights
Loud noises
Outdoors or places with strong smells
Variable temperatures
Working with animals
Driving a vehicle
Working with food
Interaction with the public
Heavy lifting
Standing for long periods
Uniforms (hard hat, hair net, etc.)

I struggle in environments that demand me to multitask; I need to be able to only do one task at a time.

Experience

Check out my work

Working since Mar 2021

Customer Service Representatives - Wawa

I do a little bit of everything! I mostly ring up customers at the register, but occasionally I assist in making drinks or food. I also help clean and stock the store.

Worked for 4 years, 6 months from Sep 2016 to Mar 2021

Key Holder - Hallmark

I started out as a sales associate in 2016. During this time, I assisted customers on the floor and at the cash register and cleaned and organized the store. Later, I moved up to being a key holder. As a key holder, I did my sales associate tasks and additionally assisted in managerial tasks such as training new employees, counting money, and completing daily paperwork.

Worked for 7 months from Feb 2016 to Sep 2016

Crew Member - Wendy's

I rung up customers either on the register or at the drive-thru, cleaned and organized the store, and occasionally made drinks, frosties, and fries.

Worked for 9 months from May 2015 to Feb 2016

Crew Member - Mcdonald's

I rung up customers either at the cash register or drive thru, cleaned and organized the store, packaged up peoples' orders, and occasionally made drinks or ice cream.

Education and Credentials

Attended for 2 years from 2018 to 2020

University of Maryland

Bachelor's degree - Communication Studies