Skip to main content

Joseph Arton (He/him)

ResumΓ©

Work Preferences

RemoteIn-PersonHybrid

Open to roles

Long Term Employee

I find creative, simple solutions to complex problems. I have over ten years experience in a range of learning, research, teaching, and program management roles. I have designed award nominated programs that have impacted over 30K and been commended for my work by the Scottish Government Quality Assurance Agency. I have a PhD in film and media, a BA in Cultural Anthropology from Cambridge University, and am a specialist in design thinking, UX, data and analytics.

Ideal Workplace Values

Friendly, kind, and a place that supports internal mobility and career development.


Skills and Strengths

My Neuro-exceptional talent

I am able to spot connections and relationships between pieces of information that others miss. I am also an excellent and creative problem solver and strategic thinker and can design solutions to most problems.

Technical Skills

Google Docs

WordPress

Apple Final Cut Pro

Qlik Sense

Top 5 Soft Skills

CollaborationActive ListeningAdaptabilityStrategic ThinkingCreativity

Inclusion Essentials

Accommodations

Screen reader technologyClosed captioningSend questions in advanceInterviewer experienced with neurodiversityAllowance of Fidgeting DevicesExtra timeWritten interview instructionsSupport personTask managementDaily job-coach checkinsDaily remindersCommunication planConcise instructions for processingWritten checklistsReceive information in advanceWritten InstructionsRecorded Meetings1:1 meetingsWait time for processing information Chunking large amounts of contentFlexible scheduleExtra time off for appointmentsShorter meetingsPeriodic rest breaksUninterrupted work timeStanding desksEnhanced lighting optionsMeditation / quiet roomErgonomic seatingNoise-cancelling headphonesQuiet / individual workspacesSelf-stimulation tools / gadgetJob coachingSupport group for stressSupport with advocating1:1s with the team

Environments I'm comfortable with

Working with animals
Bright or blinking lights
Loud noises
Standing for long periods
Driving a vehicle
Working with food
Interaction with the public
Heavy lifting
Outdoors or places with strong smells
Variable temperatures
Uniforms (hard hat, hair net, etc.)

I struggle with loud, high-stakes conversations around me.

Education and Credentials

Attended for 5 years from 2006 to 2011

University of East Anglia

Doctorate (PhD) - Film and Media Studies

Attended for 3 years from 2000 to 2003

University of Cambridge

Bachelor's degree - Cultural Anthropology