Skip to main content

Jessie Barton

Currently living in

Jefferson City, Jefferson, Missouri, US

Work Preferences

RemoteHybrid

Open to roles

InternshipLong Term Employee

About Me

#actuallyautistic #adhd

I am currently a laboratory scientist specializing in the screening and confirmation for drugs of abuse. I've used some of my self-directed time exploring data analysis as well as programming. I've completed over 170 classes on LinkedInLearning pertaining to these new love interests since the pandemic began and I'm looking to put that knowledge to use. I'm a former foster child, first generation college student, and budding advocate in my spare time in the areas of mental health and neurodivergence. I focus on connecting local individuals with resources, tips as well as telling parts of my story so that others may find connection and community to heal.

Ideal Workplace Values

I value a work place that highly values inclusivity, honesty, integrity, ingenuity and personal growth.


Skills and Strengths

My Neuro-exceptional talent

I am analytical and able to problem solve creatively often on the spot in an out of the box manner. I am self motivated and with my monotropic focus I quickly become a subject matter expert.

Technical Skills

Email software

Microsoft Word

Cascading Style Sheets CSS

Top 5 Soft Skills

Working AutonomouslyCreativityLogical ReasoningCritical ThinkingAttention to Detail

Inclusion Essentials

Accommodations

Closed captioningSend questions in advanceInterviewer experienced with neurodiversityAllowance of Fidgeting DevicesConcise instructions for processingWritten InstructionsWait time for processing information Chunking large amounts of contentFlexible scheduleExtra time off for appointmentsPeriodic rest breaksUninterrupted work timeNoise-cancelling headphonesQuiet / individual workspaces

Environments I'm comfortable with

Loud noises
Variable temperatures
Working with animals
Driving a vehicle
Working with food
Interaction with the public
Heavy lifting
Bright or blinking lights
Outdoors or places with strong smells
Standing for long periods
Uniforms (hard hat, hair net, etc.)

Not at this time.

Education and Credentials

Attended for 4 years from 2009 to 2013

Westminster College

Bachelor's degree - Biology General