Skip to main content

Derek Sumpmann (They/them)

Resumé

Currently living in

Detroit, Michigan, US

Work Preferences

RemoteHybrid

Open to roles

InternshipShort Term ContractLong Term Employee

About Me

#ActuallyAutisticADHD

Multi-faceted, hardworking musical yogi transitioning from a decade of service industry experience into a more stable career. Particularly, I am data-curious coder determined to learn how data can be used to increase accessibility and strengthen community connection on a global scale. As a classically-trained musician, I thrive collaborating on teams built upon mutual accountability. When facing challenges, I offer compassionate and direct communication, a proactive work ethic, empathetic creativity, and a pattern-oriented mind keen for lasting solutions.

Ideal Workplace Values

Mission-drive, inclusive, growth-oriented


My Badges

Skills and Strengths

My Neuro-exceptional talent

I am a pattern-thinker and my brain works best in bottom-up thinking style. Essentially, I work best accumulating a lot of details as to slowly work up to a unique solution for a larger problem, which allows my solution to have fewer edge cases and often last longer. It may take me longer than others to arrive at a theory, and that is because I spend more time testing all data points against my hypothesis as to find patterns that will more robustly support my theory. If even one of the data points doesn't align with the pattern/hypothesis, I reassess.

Technical Skills

Top 5 Soft Skills

CollaborationCreativityLogical ReasoningCritical ThinkingAttention to Detail

Inclusion Essentials

Accommodations

Closed CaptioningSend Questions in AdvanceFrequent Interview BreaksInterviewer Experienced with NeurodiversityAllowance of Fidgeting DevicesExtra TimeAlternate Interview FormatEmail / Calendar OrganizationTask ManagementCommunication PlanConcise InstructionsReceiving Information in AdvanceFlexible ScheduleUninterrupted Work TimeStanding DesksMeditation / Quiet RoomQuiet / Individual WorkspacesSelf-stimulation tools / gadgetEmployee Resource GroupSupport with Self-Advocacy

Environments I'm comfortable with

Driving a vehicle
Outdoors or places with strong smells
Working with animals
Working with food
Interaction with the public
Heavy lifting
Bright or blinking lights
Loud noises
Standing for long periods
Variable temperatures
Uniforms (hard hat, hair net, etc.)

Flexible remote work with the option to come in quarterly (or otherwise periodically) would be great. I work best curating my own work environment.

Experience

Check out my work

Worked for 2 years, 1 months from May 2019 to Jun 2021

Server - Ace Eat Serve

I was waiting tables in a fast-paced, Asian fusion restaurant. Quick yet personable interactions with guests.

Toast POSSocial skillsLearn quicklyAbility to Multitask

Education and Credentials

Attended for 4 years from 2015 to 2019

University of Denver

Bachelor's degree - Music Performance