Skip to main content

Camille Torres-Kelly (She/her)

Resumé

Currently living in

New York, New York, US

Work Preferences

In-Person

Open to roles

InternshipLong Term EmployeeShort Term ContractCo-op

I have a passion for the arts and telling stories. My dream field to work in is movies and television. I have used my love of art and storytelling to grow and improve in the work field of education, because I have found that arts and education are intrinsically linked.

Ideal Workplace Values

Good pay, health insurance benefits, retirement plans, paid time off, sick leave


Skills and Strengths

My Neuro-exceptional talent

One example of a unique advantage my neurodiversity gives me is the ability to make connections that others might not notice. For example, in my college classes, I would find connections between subjects such as Pos-Colonial African literature and the Greek myth of Arachne because a lot of the African literature we read touched upon the meaning of being a creator. The definitions of creativity given to us by the authors (for example, stating that a creator tells the truth even if it hurts them) reminded me of how Arachne the weaver wove a tapestry depicting the flaws of the gods and being punished for it by getting transformed into a spider. I have also made connections that are less academic and more practical. For example, when I was a Summer Camp Counselor at the Bay Area Discovery Museum, I made the connection between attachment theory and the behavior of nervous students who acted unusually because they were away from their parents. I used this connection to try a strategy designed for easing shy campers into having fun, such as bringing in a small toy that was pleasant to touch and provoked imagination.

Technical Skills

Microsoft PowerPoint

Hand held spell checkers

Microsoft Word

p360

Top 5 Soft Skills

CollaborationActive ListeningAdaptabilityCreativityAttention to Detail

Inclusion Essentials

Accommodations

Task managementDaily job-coach checkinsDaily remindersCommunication planWritten checklistsReceive information in advanceWait time for processing information Chunking large amounts of contentFlexible scheduleExtra time off for appointmentsShorter meetingsPeriodic rest breaksUninterrupted work timeQuiet / individual workspacesSelf-stimulation tools / gadgetJob coachingEmployee resource group

Environments I'm comfortable with

Driving a vehicle
Heavy lifting
Working with animals
Working with food
Interaction with the public
Bright or blinking lights
Loud noises
Outdoors or places with strong smells
Standing for long periods
Variable temperatures
Uniforms (hard hat, hair net, etc.)

Experience

Check out my work

Worked for 3 months from Jan 2022 to Mar 2022

Life Insurance Claims Examiner - Workforce Logiq

When I got assigned to a life insurance claim, I would have to look at the claim holder's death certificate and obituary and decide who would be paid the life insurance money. I would search the deceased person's family members on a database, get their names, addresses, and social security numbers, and add them to the beneficiary designation. Once I added every beneficiary to the designation, I would need to use Excel to check if the payment amount listed was correct. If the amount was correct, I would set up a payment page for the claim and submit a payment.

Microsoft Teamsp360 iCaptureHydrogen
Worked for 3 months from Oct 2021 to Dec 2021

Deli Clerk - Gristedes

Baked cookies, baguettes, muffins, and rotisserie chickens daily Sliced deli orders for customers and cleaned slicing machines afterwards Prepared salads and sandwiches for the display case and shelves Swept floor and cleaned display case windows

Cleaning up WorkspaceFood preparation Taking ordersStocking Shelves
Worked for 8 months from Mar 2020 to Nov 2020

Elections Inspector - San Francisco Department of Elections

Safeguarded ballots before official Election Day Activated ballot-scanning machine and assisted clerks with assembling voter booths and information kiosks Managed all the records of clerks and polling place Inspected safety tags that protected the ballot-scanning machine’s memory cards

Workplace SterilizationMachine Security InspectionNeighborhood Roster MemorizationBallot safety maintenance

Education and Credentials

Attended for 4 years from 2017 to 2021

Mills College

Bachelor's degree - Ethnic Studies